Qualifier 2: Belagavi Panthers vs Hubli Tigers: who will win and qualify for finals

The second qualifier of the ongoing Karnataka premier league will be played between Belagavi panthers and Hubli tigers at Mysuru cricket ground today at 7 pm. With only two matches left in the tournament, the winners of this match will face Bellary tuskers in the final on Saturday. Panthers lost their game to table-toppers tuskers in the first qualifier whereas Hubli tigers down Shivamogga lions to enter the second qualifier today. Ultimately tigers will have their winning momentum as they have won continuously three matches as of now and they are playing well as a unit. Their star players are peaking at the right time and they have won the crucial moments of the game which is very much essential to win a cricket match. Vinay Kumar led side defeated Shivamogga lions by 20 runs and today they are up against panthers who are without their star batsmen Manish Pandey.

Belagavi panthers on another hand will definitely miss the services of Manish Pandey who is the pillar of their batting. But they have tasted success in the past without Manish Pandey so it will help them to tackle this issue. Experienced campaigners like Ravikumar Samarth and Stalin hoover are emerged as the mainstay as for as their batting department is concerned. On the bowling front, darshan and Zahoor Farooqui has done well but they have not done any extraordinary things to seal the victory. So they will have to find ways to tackle strong and consistent tigers batting line-up. Experienced campaigner Vinay Kumar can’t able to bowl for tigers that will be the good news for panthers. In the end, it is the 2nd qualifier so both teams will toil hard for victory and an interesting match is awaiting for the cricketing fans.

Pitch report:

Fear for rain has almost vanished so you can witness the full match without any rain interruption. Light rain is expected in the afternoon but it is not expected to bring any troubles in the evening. The venue has been the high scoring one and 180+ runs have been scored in lots of matches in this venue. First, two matches of this season in this ground witnessed chasing teams won the game but in last three matches team that bats first have won. So teams no need to worry about pitch as it will be a batting paradise but the pitch slightly experiencing slowness in second innings which provides the right assistance for spinners. Also batting under lights will always be a difficulty so teams will look to bat first if they won the toss.

Expected playing XI:

Hubli Tigers:

Mohammed Taha, Luvnith Sisodia (WK), R Vinay Kumar (C), Praveen Dubey, Pawan KB, KL Srijith, David Mathias, Shreyas Gopal, Aditya Somanna, Abhilash Shetty, Mithrakanth Yadav.

Belagavi Panthers:

Mir Kaunian Abbas (C), Stalin Hoover, Rakshith S, Ravikumar Samarth, Dikshanshu Negi, Abhinav Manohar, Shubhang Hegde, Ritesh Bhatkal, Avinash D, Darshan MB, Zahoor Farooqui.

Players to watch out for:

Hubli Tigers:

Mohammed Taha:

One of the talented youngsters in Karnataka cricketing circles Mohammed Taha has been the consistent performer for tigers this season. His crucial partnerships have always helped his team to taste success on many occasions. Talented batsmen will look to continue his rich vein of form that will help his team to enter finals without many hurdles.

Praveen Dubey:

Another talented all-rounder who has grabbed the opportunity very well to showcase his talent this season. His ability to hit big sixers and to rotate strike makes him so special and also he can able to trouble the batsmen with his quality medium pace. So he can be the trump card for captain Vinay Kumar.

Belagavi Panthers:

Ravikumar Samarth:

Samarth has been the experienced campaigner who has been in the Karnataka cricketing circles for a quite long time. He didn’t look great initially at the start of the tournament but gain his form back in later part of the tournament. He will look to put up a strong performance that will help his side to emerge victoriously.

Zahoor Farooqui:

Quality seam bowler Zahoor Farooqui is also the find of the tournament will look to repeat the same performance that can help his team to tackle the in-form Tigers batting order.

Final thoughts:

Tigers having their winning momentum on their side will look to seal the victory and it will be really a tough task for panthers to stop them. Since it’s a t20 game anything can happen.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *